Left Coast Press Publishes Progressive Museum Practice: John Dewey and Democracy by TERC Board of Trustees Co-Chairman George E. Hein

November 20, 2012



CAMBRIDGE, MA–Left Coast Press has released Lesley Professor Emeritus and TERC Board of Trustees Co-Chairman Dr. George E. Hein’s Progressive Museum Practice: John Dewey and DemocracyProgressive Museum Practice is the most recent of ten education monographs by Dr. Hein, a preeminent museum education theorist and luminary.

Dr. Hein explores the philosophy and work of education reformer John Dewey against the backdrop of the museum education field—illuminating how Dewey’s early-20th century democratic ideals have—and continue to inform—progressive museum education. In addition to tracking Dewey’s sociopolitical efforts as groundwork for today’s inclusive museum education practices, Hein invokes the efforts of progressive individuals and institutions including Charles Wilson Peale, Anna Billings Gallup, and Louise Connolly and others in refining the foundations for experiential best practices and designs in the field.

Progressive Museum Practice: John Dewey and Democracy is available for purchase through Left Coast Press.

Dr. Hein is Professor Emeritus in the Graduate School of Arts and Social Sciences at Lesley University. At Lesley, he co-founded the Program Evaluation Research Group (PERG), which has become a major national center studying education reform efforts, and he developed and directed the university’s first Ph.D. program. Most recently, Dr. Hein was a museum guest scholar at the Getty Research Institute (2011) and held a fellowship in museum practice at the Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies (2009-2010). Dr. Hein has recently served as a visiting faculty member at Fu-Jen University; the University of Technology, Sydney; and completed an Osher Fellowship at The Exploratorium in San Francisco. He has published numerous papers on science education, museum education and visitor studies and is currently active on the advisory boards for several science museum exhibition development teams and professional associations.

Dr. Hein has served on the TERC Board of Trustees since 1998, was TERC’s President from 2006-2007; and in 2011 was named Co-Chairman of the TERC Board of Trustees, joining TERC Founder and Co-Chairman Arthur Nelson.